Colorado School of Mines SWE Section Awards

SWE Receives DI&A Award

SWE received a Diversity, Inclusion, and Access (DI&A) Award for the outstanding outreach programs put on during the 2019 – 2020 academic year. SWE hosts outreach events on campus and in the community to increase awareness and support of future generations of women engineers. SWE educates attendees about various STEM degrees and careers, and the possibilities available as a future Mines student. They interact with many young women with varied backgrounds from across Colorado, treat everyone as equals, and empower them to find their passions.  

Outreach events including Girl Scout Engineering Day, Girls on the Rise, and Girls Lead the Way allow girls to experience STEM careers through fun activities. SWE also participated in the Service to Succeed (S2S) challenge where our section was able to help the community for some events and help expose K-12 students to the field of STEM at other events.

Congratulations to all of the other DI&A Award winners:

  • Mary Elliott, recipient of Creating a Culture of Inclusion Award
  • EMPOWER, recipient of Employee Development Award
  • Dr. Derrick Hudson, recipient of Inclusive Educator Award 
  • Annette Pilkington, recipient of Employee Engagement Award
  • Emilie Rusch, recipient of Raising Awareness Award 
  • Andrea Salazar Morgan, recipient of Supporting Student Success Award 


SWE 2020 National Scholarship Recipients

  • Dr. Paula Marie Stenzler Legacy Scholarship for Engineering

Recipient: Sepideh Kianbakht | Colorado School of Mines | Ph.D | Electrical Engineering

  • Past Presidents Scholarship

Recipient: Claire Kincaid | Colorado School of Mines | Masters | Mining Engineering

  • SWE Rocky Mountain Section Collegiate Scholarship

Recipient: Madison Frotten | Colorado School of Mines | Sophomore | B.S. Petroleum Engineering

Recipient: Kayla Hubbard | Colorado School of Mines | Graduate School | MS Hydrologic Science and Engineering

  • SWE Rocky Mountain Section Freshman Scholarship

Recipient: Annie Osmun | Colorado School of Mines | First Year | Civil Engineering


2020-2021 SWE Florence Caldwell Scholarship Recipients

  • Recipients: Taryn TuckerSophia Becker, Breanna Moak, Madison Frotten

2021-2022 SWE Florence Caldwell Scholarship Recipients

  • Recipients: Azlan Tubbs, Cheyenne Joslin, Patricia Lamminar, and Maryam Alhamar

2022-2023 SWE Florence Caldwell Scholarship Recipients

  • Recipients: Katelyn Aasman, Alex Eke, Amii Lamm, and Jessica Tomshack

2023-2024 SWE Florence Caldwell Scholarship Recipients

  • Recipients: Jessica Tomshack, Sophie Reynolds, Kayla Lee, Diya Vinod, and Zoe Karnisky

Colorado School of Mines Receives SWE Mission Award

Colorado School of Mines is a recipient of the Society of Women Engineers Mission Award! We received the Collegiate Gold level! The Mission Awards are a society-level recognition for SWE groups that embody SWE core values and demonstrate continuous improvement and growth as they work to achieve the Society’s strategic goals. 

Check out our Social Media to keep up to date on all of our events!